Top 12 List: What do people say?

Top Twelve things people say to picture book authors and illustrators when they hear about, see or read our debut picture books:

 

  1. Awwww! Good for you.

 

  1. You write and illustrate picture books for kids? NO WAY!

 

  1. Will you illustrate my story for free?

 

  1. Do you think you’ll write a book for adults?

 

  1. Can you refer me to your agent?

 

  1. Wow, that’s great.

 

  1. Is it in actual stores?

 

  1. My _____________ wrote a kid’s book.

 

  1. Will you illustrate my story?

 

  1. Didn’t it come out already? (because I’ve been talking about it for 2 years)

 

  1. Where/When can I buy it?

 

  1. I’ve always wanted to write/illustrate a book too.
3 thoughts on “Top 12 List: What do people say?

  1. LOL. Typically I just get an “oh”. I have to add my publishers’ names to get an “OH!” Once at PT, there was a children’s librarian across the room from me. I waved and said “Oh, hi! I’m a children’s author!” She then avoided me the rest of the session. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

